The Portland Area Comprehensive Transportation System (PACTS) was designated in 1975 as the federally-mandated metropolitan planning organization or MPO for the Portland region.

The federal government established these entities in all urbanized areas of the country in order to improve the coordination of transportation planning and investment decisions by state, municipalities and public transportation organizations.

The PACTS Area includes portions or all of 18 communities: Arundel, Biddeford, Cape Elizabeth, Cumberland, Falmouth, Freeport, Gorham, North Yarmouth, Old Orchard Beach, Portland, Raymond, Saco, Scarborough, South Portland, Standish, Westbrook, Windham and Yarmouth.

PACTS members include the 18 communities, seven public transportation providers, the Maine Department of Transportation (MaineDOT), the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), the Federal Transit Administration (FTA), the Maine Turnpike Authority, the Greater Portland Council of Governments, the Southern Maine Planning and Development Commission, other public and private transportation organizations, and interested citizens.

PACTS provides a continuing, coordinated and comprehensive planning process for the Greater Portland urbanized area, and a forum for collaborative decision-making amongst the members. We sponsor and conduct studies, assist other planning agencies, and monitor compliance with federal air quality goals. We also approve the use of FHWA and FTA funds for transportation improvements in the PACTS area. The largest contribution to the funding of our work comes from the FHWA and the FTA. The MaineDOT and all of our member agencies and municipalities also contribute.


Sara Zografos, Director, szografos@gpcog.org, 774-9891 x211

Ryan Neale, Transportation Program Manager, rneale@gpcog.org, 207.774.9891, ext. 229

Aubrey Miller, Transportation Project Manager, amiller@gpcog.org, 207.774.9891 x202